Saul Bass exhibition

14 Mar

‘Design is thought made visual’ – Saul Bass

I went to the Saul Bass exhibition this afternoon at Kemistry Gallery in Shoreditch. I’ve seen his work online before but it was pretty amazing to see in person. His minimalist use of colour (usually just black and one other colour) and form are incredible, not to mention his typography (most of which is hand drawn). His ability to reduce things down to their most basic form while still communicating so much in truly something to aspire to. Here are some of the posters. Pardon the poor image quality, I only had my iPhone with me.

Incidentally, last night I read a couple of his essays on design from his official site. He’s very opinionated and can be very heavy handed but generally I tend to agree with his essays.

http://www.paul-rand.com/site/thoughts/#writtenby

Leave a Reply

