Arabic calligraphy

29 Jun

My obsession with foreign typography continues to grow – Arabic and various Asian languages especially. These are some beautiful examples of Arabic calligraphy. Some are incorporated into a piece of art, while some are incredible enough to just stand on the own as art. I find the forms used in many Asian written languages extremely elegant. Something as simple as a single written word or letter can look like a beautiful piece of art. I’ve done a little research into it and from what I’ve read many Asian cultures very much view typography and the written word as a more expressive, sometimes spiritual expression. Very inspiring.

I’ve just realised that in my last three posts I’ve covered Canadian, Japanese and Arabic cultures. Completely unintentional and unplanned. Odd.

Leave a Reply

